Purpose and Joy

2016 was a big year. The birth of our third child and the death of my beloved grandfather. Events such as these remind us how precious life is and it made me think about all the stress in my life, all the negativity, all the things that don’t bring me joy or serve a purpose. What am I doing? Don’t get me wrong, I have a great life, filled with laughter, warmth and excitement but there was something that needed to change. Enter minimalism.

Last year I began the tedious (and rewarding!) task of eliminating all the ‘things’ in my life that didn’t bring joy or serve a purpose. What a feeling! As I removed the clutter, sifted through the memories and re-evaluated what was important to me and my family, it opened a whole new outlook on life and what I want for my family and myself. I am obsessed with reading, listening to and following all that The Minimalists have to offer. Their outlook and way of life has certainly struck a chord with me and I’m enjoying the changes I’ve made and will continue to make in the future.

So, minimalism and education. This has been a relatively new thought and I think I’m going to enjoy exploring what this may look like in the coming weeks, months and years. Before I went on maternity leave last year I worked full time. At the end of 2015 I felt exhausted. Yes, I was pregnant and running after a toddler, along with racing my 10 year old from here to there, but even so, I really didn’t think my job should make me feel that way. I was burnt out, I was stressed, I was anxious and suffered from a number of panic attacks. I hated going to work. It really shouldn’t feel that way. It made me question my job. Should I teach? Do I really want this? Does it bring me joy? The idea of leaving teaching scared me and made me sad so I knew it wasn’t the job as such, it was the way I went about it all. I don’t want to stop teaching but I also don’t want to feel like this.

So, only a few weeks ago, as I began to shift my brain into entering the workforce again, I started to think about the minimalist classroom and how this would work. Would it work? What would my lessons look like? How would I set out my classroom? What sort of teacher does that make me? It isn’t about trying to get out of work, if anything it may require more thought, but then perhaps there will be more purpose to it all. Purposeful teaching and learning is so important.

This shift in thinking isn’t all about me as a teacher but it’s also about my students. If I am feeling stressed and overwhelmed what the hell are my kids (students) feeling? When they walk into a brightly decorated room full of colour and information and then BANG! I say “Okay, let’s start focusing on this, this and this…” are they freaking out? How can I create a warm, inviting and calm space that welcomes differences, supports learning and embraces the simplicity of life? So many questions… but one thing I do know is that we tend to over complicate things and I want to get back to basics.

I hope if anyone out there does follow this blog, that they might suggest or enter into a discussion with me about this idea as I have no idea where it will take me! I’m keen to know what other teachers have done and how it might work. I think this year will be interesting.

post

Leave a Reply

